Saturday, June 20, 2020

Adventures in Babysitting

I've always considered myself to be pretty good with kids. But I've never really had the temperament for babysitting. I babysat a neighbor a few times when I was a teenager, but found it more frustrating than fun. I'm starting to get the hang of it now, though.
One of the big impacts of coronavirus has been the need for childcare for so many people. My sister-in-law and brother-in-law are both in the medical field, and have two small kids (ages 6 and 2). They understandably don't feel comfortable sending the kids to daycare. The whole family has been helping out, and the last two weeks my wife and I went up to Richmond to do our part.
It can definitely be a challenge. The kids are up early, so you have to go to bed early. They need pretty constant attention. It's hard to think of fun things to do, especially when you are constrained to the house. You've read five books to them and watched two shows and look at your watch and see it's only 10 am. What are we going to do for the rest of the day?
My wife and I got into the rhythm of having "quiet time" after lunch. The 2-year-old would take a nap while the 6-year-old had quiet time in her room for a couple hours (after I played dolls with her). That gave us a much needed break in the afternoon. That break is critical to help recharge for when they are up and running around after quiet time.
One thing I learned is that young kids have limitless stomachs. Less than an hour after eating a meal, they would ask for the next thing to eat, and that continued throughout the day. Parents better have a lot of snacks in the house (both nutritional and not), or have a riot on their hands.
Babysitting can be exhausting, but it's definitely good practice for when we have kids. Just pack some patience.

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

A New Normal

There are many adjustments we have to make in this very strange time. It's hard to appreciate just how different things are when you are at home. It feels fairly normal, other than the fact that you can't really go anywhere. Where I really feel the change, though, is when I take a trip to the grocery store.
It's been a big adjustment for me, because I am used to going to Kroger every two or three days and getting 6-8 items. I usually think about what we're going to want for dinner a few days out. That has completely changed. Now we are trying to only go to the grocery store every 10 days or two weeks. Last time, my wife went. Today was my turn. It was the first time I had been there in close to four weeks.
The first thing I had to think about was meal planning. What recipes do I want to make, and what ingredients can I use for multiple recipes? I spent about an hour coming up with a list, then putting together a final grocery list that went in order of how I go through the store.
This morning, before I went, I had to figure out the mask. My wife made a mask using a black bandanna, but it took several attempts to get it to fit right on my face without being too loose or too tight. When I got to Kroger I noticed there were fewer cars in the parking lot than normal. I thought this was a good sign. But when you get in the store, it still seems like you can't escape the crowds. It definitely felt tense, with most people wearing masks and trying to stay out of everyone else's way. The only item on my list that Kroger didn't have was garlic. Is there a garlic shortage I missed? Of course, they don't have toilet paper, but I didn't even try for that. Surprisingly, I was the only person in the wine aisle. Maybe I should have camped there for a few minutes for some time to de-stress. The checkout aisles are a bit different. There are signs on the floor for where you should stand and a Plexiglass barrier in front of the cashier.
My grand total: 81 items. That seems like a ton but somehow the food goes fast! I guess that's what happens when you have nothing to do but stay home. 

Monday, January 27, 2020

The Morning Show

It is certainly an impressive cast. Apple TV+ came out with its signature show headlined by Jennifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon and Steve Carell. Even big names like Martin Short stop by for guest appearances. And yet The Morning Show is one of the most frustrating shows I've ever watched.

Coming from a TV news background, I'm bound to be more critical, because I know what they get right and get wrong. But it can work: The Newsroom was a show I really liked, despite not getting all the TV stuff right. The Morning Show is just a mess. I think the root of the problem is the screenwriting. Characters don't so much talk as give speeches. Some scenes go on way too long because the character has something IMPORTANT TO SAY. There is no subtlety here. Way too many scenes feature people yelling or crying. Just in the first episode, Aniston, Witherspoon and Carell all have these moments.

What are we supposed to make of Aniston's character, Alex Levy, for example? Some moments she seems human and vulnerable (especially in the first episode). Then by the third episode she's out of control, yelling at everyone and acting like she is the main victim. There is one especially cringeworthy scene in the third episode where she tells off her bosses, saying she is the most important person at her network and she has all the power. No, you don't. Anyone in television is replaceable.

Witherspoon's Bradley Jackson is just as frustrating. She spends half the time with wide eyes looking like she's completely overwhelmed and the other half yelling at everyone at the network who just gave her a huge career boost. There's some attempt at a subplot with a drug-addicted brother and overwhelmed mother, but it feels like such an afterthought.

I'm three episodes in and there are seven left. I haven't really understood why some people hate-watch shows, but I might have to do it with this one. I really hope the writing improves, but I'm not holding my breath.